12.05 until 16.09.2012

The two curators Philippe Van Cauteren and Mirjam Varadinis took the time to select exemplary locations in the wider city centre of Ghent and invited artists who have an affinity with the thematical context of those places. The selected artists used the local reality as a fertile source of inspiration and the results of their in-depth explorations are not simply traditional works of art, but artistic projects in all different medias that embrace the social, economic, cultural and political conditions of the city and the times we live in. Their works call for participation, interact with the different communities in various ways and leave permanent traces. TRACK is conceived as a universe of parallel narrations, occurences and (hi)stories. It consists of six clusters that offer a historical, cultural, architectural and mental cross-section of Ghent and the idea of a city today. Each cluster has its own distinct atmosphere and touches upon a specific issue like mobility, religion, migration, economy, language, science and city changes.

TRACK invites the audience to explore the exhibition in various ways. Visitors do not have to follow a given linear trail but are free to choose their own personal TRACK through the clusters and the city. Each visitor thus creates a different kind of narration, based on his or her background and the way they are approaching the exhibition. This free and multi-layered perception corresponds to our globalised world and the idea of plural realities happening at the same time. TRACK is welcoming everybody to visit the exhibition and to be inspired by the visionary potential of art. TRACK was initiated by the S.M.A.K. It continues the tradition established by the large-scale exhibition projects Chambres d’Amis (1986) and Over the Edges (2000), which installed contemporary art in the context of the city and entered into direct dialogue with the public.


Participating artists:
Yorgos Sapountzis, Tobias Putrih, Teresa Margolles, Tercerunquinto, Sven Augustijnen, Susanne Kriemann, Superflex, Pilvi Takala, Peter & David Fischli & Weiss, Pawel Althamer, Pascale Marthine Tayou, Mircea Cantor, Michael & Ingar Elmgreen & Dragset, Massimo Bartolini, Lonnie & Siebren van Brummelen & De Haan, Lara Almarcegui, John Bock, Erwan Maheo, Erik Van Lieshout, Danh Vo, Cyprien Gaillard, Christoph Büchel, Christina & Roman Hemauer & Keller, Benjamin Verdonck, Alon Levin, Alexandra Bachzetsis, Ahmet Ogut, Adelita Husni-Bey, Peter Buggenhout, Bart Lodewijks, Tazu Rous, Simona Denicolai, Ivo Provoost, Mekhitar Garabedian, Emilio Lopez-Menchero, Tadashi Kawamata, Mike Bouchet, Lawrence Weiner, Mark Manders, Michaël Borremans, Leo Copers