About S.M.A.K. Moves

20180509 SMAK OKAN 5847 web

Art connects people, and gets them talking. Not everyone understands art and culture, yet art can be meaningful for everyone. S.M.A.K. is bringing a hard-to-reach audience into contact with art and artists. Together with various partners we are developing a series of suitable projects. Here you will find a list of workshops, guided tours and studio sessions that were specially created for a diverse public.

The world is a dynamic environment in which society is changing at an increasingly rapid pace. S.M.A.K. wants to do more than just show contemporary art: it actively strives to explore what it is and what it can be. S.M.A.K. wants to create a dynamic and inclusive museum experience, wherein art is a powerful tool for connection and understanding.

Wide-ranging outreach work is part of S.M.A.K.’s DNA thanks to its mission: to make contemporary art accessible. As a museum within a community, S.M.A.K. takes action to give everyone, from every walk of life, the chance to discover contemporary art in all its forms. In recent years, a targeted programme called S.M.A.K. Moves has succeeded in bringing people, who might not otherwise visit a museum, into contact with art. Organised in collaboration with a broad range of partner organisations, this inclusive and educational programme is tailored towards young people, children from underprivileged families, people with dementia, refugees, prisoners, people with a mental disability or psychological vulnerability, the blind and visually impaired. It revolves around intersectionality at the social level. We would struggle to address the contemporary challenges on our own. Our collaborations with a wide variety of community support associations laid the foundations for S.M.A.K. Moves.

S.M.A.K.’s forward plan is to develop S.M.A.K. Moves into a platform for connection and learning, with art as a universal language. Young people will be an important priority. Education, inclusion, diversity, vulnerable and disadvantaged families, and young people’s mental health are key focal points. Knowledge sharing is key to maximising the project outcomes. Everything starts with identifying and recognising the specific needs of different audience groups. Thereafter, and together with associate organisations, we explore the needs and aspirations of partners and audiences, and what the museum can contribute to these aims. We believe that long-term collaborations are the basis for moving towards sustainable outreach and increasing its impact.

Together with partners, we develop adapted projects for:

Partners: Licht en Liefde, Het Secundair Kunstinstituut, Academie voor Beeldende Kunst, De Rode Antraciet, Gevangenis Gent, LUCA, Refu Interim, The Courage To Grow Old, WaF!, Centrum Leren Werken Gent, Fedasil, Rode Kruis-Vlaanderen, Vluchtelingenwerk Vlaanderen, Topo Copy, Reno Ponton Gent, mentormentor, Dr. Guislain Ziekenhuis and de Olijfboom.

Become a Friend of S.M.A.K.
made by

A propos de S.M.A.K. Bouge

20180509 SMAK OKAN 5847 web

L'art a un pouvoir de connexion qui amène les gens à discuter. Tout le monde ne considère pas l'art et la culture comme allant de soi, alors que l'art peut avoir un sens pour tout le monde. S.M.A.K. met un public difficile à atteindre en contact avec l'art et les artistes.

Le monde est un environnement dynamique dans lequel la société change à un rythme toujours plus rapide. Le S.M.A.K. ne se contente pas de montrer de l’art contemporain : nous voulons aussi étudier ce qu’est l’art contemporain et ce qu’il peut être. Le S.M.A.K. veut que le musée soit vécu comme un lieu dynamique et inclusif, où l’art est un puissant moyen pour créer du lien et favoriser la compréhension mutuelle.

Le S.M.A.K., dont une des missions est de rendre l’art contemporain accessible, a dans son ADN de s’adresser à un large public. Musée implanté au cœur de la société, le S.M.A.K. prend des initiatives pour donner à tous l’occasion de découvrir l’art contemporain sous toutes ses formes, toutes couches de la population confondues. Ces dernières années, le S.M.A.K. a réussi à mettre des gens qui n’ont pas l’habitude d’aller au musée en contact avec l’art grâce à un programme ciblé : S.M.A.K. Bouge. Avec le concours d’une série d’organisations partenaires, S.M.A.K. Bouge est un programme inclusif taillé sur mesure pour l’enseignement, les jeunes, les enfants de familles défavorisées, les personnes souffrant de démence, les réfugiés, les prisonniers, les personnes souffrant d’un handicap mental ou d’une fragilité psychologique, les aveugles et les malvoyants. Avec une attention particulière pour l’intersectionnalité sur le plan social. Seuls, nous n’arriverions pas à relever les défis d’aujourd’hui. Mais grâce au concours d’associations qui soutiennent différentes communautés, nous avons pu jeter les bases de S.M.A.K. Bouge.

Dans les années à venir, le S.M.A.K. compte continuer à développer S.M.A.K. Bouge pour en faire une plateforme de création de lien et d’apprentissage, avec l’art comme langage universel. S.M.A.K. Bouge met avant tout l’accent sur les jeunes. En s’intéressant particulièrement à l’enseignement, l’inclusion, la diversité, la vulnérabilité des familles défavorisées et la santé mentale des jeunes. Le partage des connaissances contribue largement à accroître l’impact des projets. L’action de S.M.A.K. Bouge commence par la détection et l’identification des besoins spécifiques de différents groupes de public. Ensuite, avec l’aide d’organisations partenaires, nous nous mettons en quête des besoins et des ambitions des partenaires et du public et nous cherchons quelle peut être la contribution du musée dans ce cadre. Nous croyons que les partenariats de longue durée sont la base pour évoluer vers une action durable et accroître l’impact de celle-ci.

Avec nos partenaires, nous développons des projets adaptés pour :

Partenaires: Licht en Liefde, Het Secundair Kunstinstituut, Academie voor Beeldende Kunst, De Rode Antraciet, Gevangenis Gent, LUCA, Refu Interim, The Courage To Grow Old, WaF!, Centrum Leren Werken Gent, Fedasil, Rode Kruis-Vlaanderen, Vluchtelingenwerk Vlaanderen, Topo Copy, Reno Ponton Gent, mentormentor, Dr. Guislain Ziekenhuis et de Olijfboom.

Devenez un Ami du S.M.A.K.
made by